One box on a sign-in sheet decides whether you get to be represented at all. This page explains the rule, quotes the builders’ own policies, and covers what their contract does that a normal Florida contract doesn’t.
Reviewed September 2026
Nearly every production builder requires your real estate agent to be registered at or before your very first contact with that specific community, and most require the agent to physically accompany you. If you sign in without naming an agent, the builder’s file records you as builder-procured — and bringing someone in later usually does not work.
Production builders don’t cooperate through the MLS the way resale does. Each one runs its own broker participation policy, which is a private contract between the builder and the cooperating brokerage. Almost all of them hang payment on a single event: the buyer being registered to that agent at or before the buyer’s first contact with that community.
Mechanically it works like this. You walk into a model home or a sales center and sign in on a card or a tablet. That form asks whether you’re working with an agent. Your answer creates a timestamped record tied to that community — registration is usually per-community, not per-builder. Toll Brothers says so explicitly: registration happens on the client’s first visit to each Toll Brothers community. Registrations then expire, commonly after 30, 60 or 90 days, and have to be renewed in writing before they lapse.
Two things catch people out:
So the operative instruction is one sentence: name your agent before you fill in anything — the sign-in card, the online form, the QR code at the model.
Most agent websites assert “bring your agent to the first visit.” Very few quote the builders saying it. Here is what these builders publish themselves, with an honest note on how confident we are in each.
| Builder | What they publish | First visit required? | Window |
|---|---|---|---|
| Toll Brothers | An agent “must complete an electronic registration at the time of their client’s first visit to a specific Toll Brothers community.” If a Toll rep already registered the client, eligibility is forfeited. | Yes | 90 days, renewable |
| Ashton Woods | Consumer FAQ: you don’t need a REALTOR®, “but if you utilize a Realtor, you must register him or her upon your first visit to the Ashton Woods community sales office.” | Yes | Not stated |
| Pulte / Del Webb | Broker or agent “must register their buyer on buyer’s first visit as required by Pulte Homes” and sign Pulte’s standard registration and commission agreements. | Yes | Not stated |
| Lennar | “Register your client… during their initial contact with Lennar.” / “Join your client on their first visit to a Lennar Welcome Home Center, whether in person or virtually.” Co-op paid only where “Lennar must be offering a commission in the community.” | Yes | 60 days from identification |
| M/I Homes (Orlando) | “60-day protected registration by accompanying your buyer on the first visit.” Also requires the agent’s “presence at purchase contract” to earn the co-broke. | Yes — and again at signing | 60 days |
| KB Home | Agents must register clients “on their first visit” and “accompany client at first visit.” A signed buyer-broker agreement predating the purchase agreement must be submitted at contract. | Yes | 60 days |
| Kolter (Cresswind) | Brokers may pre-register at least 24 hours before the first visit; otherwise the broker “must be present upon Client’s initial visit.” Registration lasts 90 days. | Yes | 90 days |
| Richmond American | Registration is accepted in writing at a sales center, a Home Gallery, or online; the purchaser must confirm within four calendar days. Void if the purchaser self-registered in the previous 30 days. | Written registration governs, not accompaniment | 30 days |
| Meritage | The published exception: a “competitive market rate buyer’s agent commission for every represented buyer… even if you weren’t there on the first visit.” | No — stated exception | Not stated |
| D.R. Horton | A regional broker flyer lists three qualifying routes, all at or before the first visit, and states a reduced or zero fee for “writing up the transaction only.” This document is regional, not Florida-specific. | Treat as yes — verify locally | Not stated |
| Taylor Morrison, Dream Finders, Beazer (FL) | No policy is publicly published that we could verify. We are not going to invent one. | Confirm community by community | — |
Quotations are from each builder’s own public agent or consumer pages, reviewed September 2026. Builder policies change, and divisions differ. Treat this table as a reason to ask the question, not as the final word — always confirm the current policy with the specific community before you visit.
Usually it is not recoverable, and you deserve a straight answer rather than a reassuring one. Once a builder’s file shows you as their own, most divisions will not add an agent afterwards — and once you’ve signed a contract without one, essentially none will.
There are narrow paths that sometimes work. None of them is a right; all of them are discretion:
The builder. In Florida, the new-home sales consultant in the model is typically a licensee working under the owner-developer, and the builder generally establishes in writing either a single-agent relationship with itself or no brokerage relationship with you.
This matters more than it sounds. Under section 475.278 of the Florida Statutes, all licensees are presumed to operate as transaction brokers unless a single-agent or no-brokerage relationship is established in writing — and Florida prohibits dual agency outright. Under “no brokerage relationship,” the licensee owes you exactly three duties: deal honestly and fairly, disclose known material facts about the property that aren’t readily observable, and account for funds. Nothing about loyalty. Nothing about confidentiality. Nothing about advocating on your price.
So the accurate framing is this: the person in the model home may be a licensed Florida professional and completely honest, and still be legally barred from telling you that the builder would take less, or which lot is the problem lot. That isn’t a character judgment. It’s the statutory relationship.
The standard FAR/BAR contracts assume the home already exists. Builder contracts are proprietary documents drafted by the builder’s counsel, and they routinely differ in ways that cost real money.
| Term | Typical Florida resale | Typical builder contract |
|---|---|---|
| Closing date | Fixed, with a defined extension mechanism | Often no specific completion date; tied to certificate of occupancy with broad builder extension rights |
| Contingencies | Financing and inspection contingencies standard | Frequently states there are no conditions upon which closing is contingent |
| Plans & materials | N/A | Builder may substitute materials and colors and deviate from plans without it being a default |
| Inspection rights | A defined inspection period and right to cancel | Often limits your right to inspect during construction and before closing |
| Closing costs | Florida custom: seller pays documentary stamp tax on the deed ($0.70 per $100) | Commonly requires the buyer to pay all closing costs including doc stamps — roughly $2,800 on a $400,000 home |
| Dispute resolution | Court, with a mediation provision | Commonly binding arbitration with a class-action waiver |
Usually negotiable: incentive dollars (closing-cost credits, design-center allowance, rate buydown), which spec home, lot premium on slow-moving lots, appliance and blind packages, timeline commitments, escrow holdback for punch-list items, and a written addendum preserving your right to a third-party inspection.
Usually not: the architecture of the form itself — arbitration, material-substitution rights, the builder’s warranty program, the required closing agent, and the base price. Builders defend base price hardest, because it sets the appraisal comparables for the rest of the community.
Section 501.1375 of the Florida Statutes gives buyers of a one- or two-family dwelling the right to have deposit funds up to 10% of the purchase price held in escrow, and requires a conspicuous notice saying so. That right may be waived, in writing, by the buyer — and the waiver is a standard part of many builder packages. There is also no three-day cooling-off period on a Florida new-home purchase contract. Design-center and option deposits are usually separately non-refundable once ordered.
Clauses passing through material cost increases between signing and ordering appeared during the 2021–22 supply shock and have not gone away. What to negotiate is a percentage cap above which you can either accept the increase or void and get your deposit back. A 5% cap on a $600,000 contract means up to $30,000 flows through automatically before you get any say. Ask for the materials list priced as of the contract date.
You can generally use your own lender — you will usually forfeit the incentive. Builders can’t force you to use their affiliate, but they can make their best pricing available only through it, and that structure is common and generally lawful.
The magnitude in 2026 is genuinely large. Lennar reported an average incentive of $54,947 per home in Q2 2026 — 12.9% of sales price, against $12,074 in Q3 2022. Nationally, the NAHB/Wells Fargo survey found 63% of builders using sales incentives in August 2026, with 35% cutting prices outright by an average of 6%.
But a 5.25% rate from a builder’s lender when the open market is near 6.76% is not free money. It’s prepaid interest, funded by the builder, recovered in the price. Five things to check before you decide:
The line that matters is pre-construction versus post-construction. Structural options must be chosen before permitting and slab, and are effectively irreversible: elevation, extended or bonus rooms, an extra bedroom or bath, third-car or tandem garage, lanai extension and whether it’s under truss, pool and gas stubs, summer-kitchen rough-in, ceiling height, window and slider placement, electrical rough-in (ceiling fan boxes, floor outlets, an EV-ready 240V circuit), plumbing locations, and impact glass versus shutters.
Lot selection is the other irreversible decision — orientation (west-facing rear glass in Florida is a real cooling-load and lanai-usability problem), retention-pond and conservation adjacency, whether the lot backs a future phase or a future road, and whether the premium is recoverable.
The rule of thumb: buy the things drywall covers. Buy the rest at retail later. Design-center dollars are typically marked up well above retail and then financed at your mortgage rate for thirty years. The arithmetic changes completely when you’re spending the builder’s credit rather than your own money — which is exactly the calculation your agent should be running with you in the room.
Yes, get your own inspections. The municipal inspection is not a substitute — county and city inspectors verify minimum Florida Building Code compliance on a pass/fail basis, and section 553.79 of the Florida Statutes gives building officials significant immunity, so there is effectively no recourse for a missed defect.
| Inspection | When | Typical cost |
|---|---|---|
| Pre-drywall / rough-in | After framing, electrical, plumbing, HVAC and hurricane strapping — before insulation and drywall | ~$350–550 |
| Pre-closing / final | 7–10 days before closing, to build a documented punch list | ~$250–400 |
| 11-month warranty | Month 10–11, before the one-year warranty expires | ~$250–350 |
Roughly $850–$1,300 all in, against findings that commonly run into the thousands. The recurring Florida issues are duct leakage, insulation gaps, stucco cracking and window-flashing detail, hurricane strap and fastener defects, and improper grading on flat lots. Cost and finding figures come from inspection-industry sources — treat them as typical ranges, not guarantees.
Some builders resist, and pre-closing the legal footing is theirs — it’s their property until title transfers, so they control site access. Documented tactics include refusing pre-drywall access, demanding very high liability limits from the inspector, or allowing observation only. Which is precisely why this is a contract issue, not a walkthrough issue: inspection access needs to be written into an addendum at signing. That single addendum is one of the most concrete things a buyer’s agent adds on a new build.
You will see Central Florida agent sites claim that Florida law requires one-year workmanship, two-year systems and ten-year structural coverage. That is wrong. Section 553.837 of the Florida Statutes, effective 1 July 2025, requires builders to warrant new residential property against construction defects constituting a material violation of the Florida Building Code for one year, and that warranty transfers automatically to a subsequent owner within that period. The two-year systems and ten-year structural tiers are private contractual programs, not statute.
The private “1-2-10” structure, administered by third parties like 2-10 HBW or StrucSure or self-administered by the builder, works out as:
So a ten-year warranty is not ten years of coverage on your house. It is ten years on the skeleton, and years one and two carry everything a homeowner actually calls about.
One more thing worth knowing: Florida’s statute of repose for construction defect claims dropped from ten years to seven under SB 360, effective 1 July 2024, and the clock now runs from the earliest of temporary CO, CO, certificate of completion, or abandonment. Your window to bring a defect claim is shorter than the brochure’s “10-year warranty” suggests, and it starts before you move in.
A Community Development District is an independent special-purpose unit of local government created under Chapter 190 of the Florida Statutes. It issues tax-exempt bonds to build the neighborhood’s roads, stormwater, utilities and amenities, then assesses that debt against your lot — collected as a non-ad valorem line on your county property tax bill, in addition to your HOA dues.
The assessment has two parts, and conflating them is the most common mistake in consumer content:
| Component | What it pays for | How it behaves |
|---|---|---|
| Debt service | Repaying the infrastructure bonds | Fixed for the bond term, typically 20–30 years, and ends when they retire |
| Operations & maintenance | Landscaping, amenity operations, staffing, insurance, management | Set annually by the district board, generally rises, and never goes away |
In Central Florida’s growth corridors — Horizon West, Lake Nona, ChampionsGate, much of Osceola and Polk — single-family CDD assessments commonly run $1,500 to $3,000 a year, on top of HOA dues. Established neighborhoods like Winter Park, Isleworth, Keene’s Pointe and Heathrow generally have none.
This is the sharp irony. Section 190.048 of the Florida Statutes requires that the contract for the initial sale of a home inside a CDD carry, in boldfaced conspicuous type immediately before the signature line, a notice that the district “may impose and levy taxes or assessments” that are “in addition to county and other local governmental taxes and assessments.”
So why the surprise? Because the disclosure names no dollar amount. It’s a legal notice, not a budget. You sign it on the day you pick your lot, inside a forty-page package, and meet the actual number a year later when the tax bill arrives. Three more traps compound it:
What to get in writing before you sign: the district name, the current-year debt service and O&M amounts for that specific lot, the bond maturity year, the payoff amount, and whether O&M has risen over the last three budget cycles. All of it is public record from the district manager. Lot-level amounts can vary by $500–$2,500 within the same community, because debt is allocated by lot size and product type — which is why the only number worth trusting is the one for your actual parcel. Pulling that is a concrete, checkable thing your agent should do for you.
For a buyer with a five-year-plus horizon, this is the strongest new-construction negotiating position in well over a decade. Builders are carrying completed spec inventory, prices have been cut in 16 consecutive months, and incentive budgets are running several times their historical level.
The supporting numbers, as of mid-2026: new homes for sale nationally hit 488,000 units — 9.6 months’ supply in July 2026 against a historically balanced level around six, with the South alone holding 301,000 of them and 101,000 already completed. The NAHB/Wells Fargo builder confidence index sat at 35 in August 2026, its 16th consecutive month below 40, with the South at 31.
But two risks belong in the same breath:
If you haven’t visited yet, this is the easiest thing you will ever do to protect yourself — and it costs nothing. Send the list, and you’ll be properly registered before you walk in.
Already visited one without an agent? Say so — it’s better to know what’s still possible than to find out at contract.
List the builders or communities you're considering. I'll confirm each one's policy and register you properly.
No — nothing requires it. But the builder’s sales consultant represents the builder, the contract is the builder’s own document, and having your own agent generally costs you nothing because the builder budgets that compensation as a marketing expense. The catch is timing: you have to bring them at your first contact with the community or the builder may decline to recognize them at all.
Generally no. Base prices are published per plan and community and do not change based on whether you’re represented. Builders do not hand an unrepresented buyer the saved co-op — there is no “came in alone” discount. Toll Brothers states publicly that it compensates buyer agents in every one of its communities company-wide; Lennar’s policy is conditional on the community offering a commission, so co-op availability does vary by builder and by community.
Usually the builder, through its broker co-op program — but since August 2024 you and your agent must also agree the compensation in writing before you tour anything, and your agent cannot collect more than that agreed figure from any source. If your agreement says 3% and the builder’s co-op is 2%, the gap is your obligation unless the agreement is written to cap the fee at whatever the builder pays. Ask for it to be written that way, before the first visit.
Yes, but mostly not on base price. Builders protect base price because it sets the appraisal comparables for every remaining home in the community. The money is in incentives: rate buydowns, closing-cost credits, design-center allowances, appliance and blind packages, lot premiums on slow-moving lots, and escrow holdbacks for punch-list items. In the current market those incentives are unusually large.
For most builders, yes — and several require the agent to physically accompany you, not merely be named. Toll Brothers requires electronic registration at the time of the first visit to each community. Ashton Woods, Pulte, KB Home, M/I Homes and Kolter all require registration at the first visit, with KB Home and M/I also requiring accompaniment. Meritage is the published exception.
Often not. Once the builder’s file shows you as builder-procured, most divisions will not add an agent afterwards, and after a contract is signed essentially none will. Sometimes an expired registration, a sales manager’s discretion, a different community, or a different builder solves it. Ask before you write anything — never after.
The builder. In Florida the model-home consultant is typically a licensee under the owner-developer, and the builder generally establishes in writing either a single-agent relationship with itself or no brokerage relationship with you. Florida prohibits dual agency. Under no brokerage relationship, the licensee owes you honesty, disclosure of known material facts not readily observable, and accounting for funds — and nothing about loyalty, confidentiality, or your price.
You can use your own lender, but you will usually lose the incentive. Under Regulation X, offering a discount package across multiple settlement services is not a prohibited “required use” provided the package is optional and reflects true savings. In practice that means the builder cannot force you to use its affiliate, but it can make its best pricing available only there. Get a Loan Estimate from both, compare APR and cash to close, and subtract the forfeited incentive from the outside lender’s scenario.
Yes. The municipal inspection checks minimum code compliance on a pass/fail basis and doesn’t catch duct leakage, insulation gaps, grading, or stucco and flashing detail — and Florida law gives building officials substantial immunity for what they miss. Budget roughly $850–$1,300 for pre-drywall, pre-closing, and an 11-month warranty inspection. Get the access right written into an addendum at contract, because some builders resist and pre-closing it is legally their property.
A CDD is a special-purpose unit of local government under Chapter 190 of the Florida Statutes that funds a community’s infrastructure with bonds and assesses the cost to your lot via a non-ad valorem line on your property tax bill. In Central Florida’s new-construction corridors, single-family assessments commonly run $1,500–$3,000 a year, on top of HOA dues. Amounts vary by lot even inside the same community, so the only reliable figure is the one from the district’s adopted budget for your specific parcel.
The debt-service portion is fixed and ends when the bonds retire, typically 20–30 years from issue. The operations and maintenance portion is set annually by the district’s elected board, generally rises over time, and never ends. Whether and how the debt portion can be prepaid varies by district — ask the district manager directly rather than relying on general guidance.
Consistently the same handful: Pulte, Lennar, D.R. Horton, Taylor Morrison and M/I Homes lead the Orlando region on permits month to month, with Pulte at 192 permits in July 2026 and Lennar at 116. Beyond them the metro has 40-plus active builders including Toll Brothers, Dream Finders, Mattamy, Meritage, Ashton Woods, David Weekley, KB Home, Richmond American, Beazer, Century Communities, LGI and Hanover. Month-to-month permit rankings are volatile, so treat it as “the same five or six names,” not a fixed order.
Everything on this page is general information, not legal advice. Builder policies, statutes and incentive programs change, and divisions within the same builder differ. Have a Florida real estate attorney review your builder contract before you sign it, and confirm any builder’s current registration policy with that specific community.
Send me the communities you’re considering and I’ll handle the rest — before you walk in, while it still counts.